I asked for a Cold War era system using Team Yankee models a week or two ago. Several suggestions for 7DttR came in, so I gave it a shot with a friend. Really liked it. However, there were some ambiguous or unclear rules that we had some questions about. I didn't know where else to ask these, as I couldn't find an established 7DttR community place, so I figured I'd ask you guys. There's a few, in no particular order. Also I'm really sorry if I'm not supposed to be this specific with describing rules here, but I guess I'm not that sorry lol.
1.) Reacting and LOS. If I activate a unit that's behind a forest where no enemy has LOS and my order to them is to move into the woods and into the edge and shoot the enemy, can my opponent react to this? Where they start the order is completely unsee-able (not a real word probably), however they're obviously moving into a position where they can be seen. Can my opponent react to any part of this?
1a.) Similar question as above, but this time the unit is starting off table as a reserve. I activate them to bring them on. Can they be reacted to?
2.) The rules allow 3 NATO vehicles of the same type to make a move together as a single activation, and 3 Soviet vehicles to make a move and/or shoot as a single activation. My question is, is this number specifically only 3, or is it 'up to' 3. The rules do not state 'up to', they state 3.
2b.) Can a reaction be made using this 'platoon move'? Can I react to my opponent shooting a tank with 3 of my tanks?
3.) When you lose a commander you lose 2 command tokens, and a further random number depending on side. Later, the rules state 'all command tokens that are temporarily lost are returned.' Though they never mentioned which ones are temporary in the first place. Are the 2 you lose for losing the commander temporary? Are the random number you lose after temporary? We assumed the latter, since losing 2d6 command tokens permanently could completely end the game.
4.) Penetration. I'm not going to type out the rules, but on the penetration table when you roll a 5+ the final sentence is a bit unclear. It states that if the vehicle is an APC and has infantry in it, they die, and all friendly models within (I think 4"?) a certain distance get a moral marker. Does this rule apply to things that arne't APCs with infantry in them? The whole thing is a single sentence, and it's really just not clear in the grammar that it's written in, but if I were to guess they intend the second clause of the sentence to apply to all vehicles, not just APCs with infantry in them.
5.) In the preparatory bombardment section it mentions something alone the lines that 'infantry may have extra casualties inflicted upon them in the normal way'. But no where in the book does it ever even use the word 'casualty'. Using my experienced wargamer brain, I suppose they must be talking about 'converting hits' where you get a hit on infantry, roll a d6 and on a 6 they get an additional wound marker. But that's just a guess, since as I said, they don't even use the word casualty in the book save for that single section which is trying to use the word casualty to reference something that doesn't exist in the book.
Thanks in advance for any input.
So I want to start a British and French army in 28mm for the Hundred days campaign, and I was thinking of getting the Waterloo starter set from Warlord games, but after that I’m no sure how to continue since there are a lot of brands. Also I’m not sure how to paint, and was wondering what are some good books that explain the units that fought and the different battalions.